The Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSA) is a four-year degree program offered by the College of Agriculture and Food Science (CAFS), UPLB.  The BSA program provides students the technical know-how needed for the country’s agriculture and rural development. It has been designed to be interdisciplinary, cutting across subject matters to focus on comprehensive life problems and/or broad-based areas of study. Animal Science is one of its major fields along with Agricultural Extension, Agricultural Systems, Agronomy, Entomology, Horticulture, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Weed Science, and Landscape Agroforestry. The BSA curriculum is composed of 31 units foundation courses, 43 units core courses, 18 units major courses, 12 units specialization courses, 3 units electives, 2 units seminar, 6 units thesis or major practice, and 3 units practicum or special problem.

BSA Animal Science major students are required to take 18 units major courses composed of Anatomy and Physiology of Farm Animals, Principles of Animal Nutrition, Principles of Animal Breeding, Livestock/Poultry Sanitation and Disease Control, Slaughter and Meat Evaluation, and Animal Biotechnology. The fields of specialization under the Animal Science major are Animal Production, Animal Nutrition, Animal Breeding, Animal Physiology, Dairy Technology, and Meat Science.